Mutares completes acquisition of Knorr-Bremse RailServices UK and Kiepe Electric Ltd.

  • New platform investment with total annual turnover of GBP 75 million (EUR 85 million)
  • Product portfolio includes railway maintenance services and turnkey solutions
  • Transaction marks entry into the UK market for Mutares

Munich, November 1, 2018 – Mutares AG (ISIN: DE000A2NB650) has successfully closed the acquisition of Knorr-Bremse RailServices UK (KBRS) and Kiepe Electric Ltd. (Kiepe) from Knorr-Bremse. From now on, both companies will be combined in the Mutares portfolio in the “Engineering & Technology” segment as a new platform investment.

The product range offered includes structured and innovative services such as overhaul and turnkey repair services, modernisation programmes, design and project management for the owners and operators of rail vehicles in the UK. KBRS and Kiepe employ around 700 people in Wolverton, Springburn and Birmingham and have total sales of around GBP 75 million (EUR 85 million). The operational experts at Mutares are now working with local teams to develop a comprehensive change program.

“The acquisition of two of Knorr-Bremse’s companies is our first transaction in the UK and is an excellent continuation of the market development we have been able to achieve through our recently opened UK office in London. KBRS and Kiepe are both well-established players in the UK market and represent an ideal platform investment where our operational advisory team will support local management in realizing value potential”, says Robin Laik, CEO of Mutares AG.

Company profile of Mutares AG

Mutares AG, Munich (www.mutares.de), acquires medium-sized companies and parts of groups that are being sold during a repositioning and show a clear potential for operational improvement. Mutares actively supports and develops its portfolio companies with own investment and expert teams as well as through acquisitions of strategic add-ons. The aim is to achieve a significant increase in value focusing on sustainable growth of the portfolio company. Mutares AG shares are traded on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange under the symbol “MUX” (ISIN: DE000A2NB650).

Mutares schließt Übernahme von Knorr-Bremse RailServices UK und Kiepe Electric Ltd. erfolgreich ab

  • Neue Plattforminvestition mit einem Gesamtjahresumsatz von 75 Mio. GBP (85 Mio. EUR)
  • Produktportfolio umfasst Bahnwartungsleistungen und schlüsselfertige Lösungen
  • Transaktion markiert Eintritt in den britischen Markt für Mutares

München, 1. November 2018 – Die Mutares AG (ISIN: DE000A2NB650) hat die Übernahme der Knorr-Bremse RailServices UK (KBRS) und Kiepe Electric Ltd. (Kiepe) von Knorr-Bremse erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Fortan werden beide Unternehmen im Portfolio von Mutares im Segment „Engineering & Technology“ kombiniert als neue Plattforminvestition geführt.

Die angebotene Produktpalette umfasst strukturierte und innovative Services wie Überholungs- und schlüsselfertige Reparaturdienstleistungen, Modernisierungsprogramme, Design sowie Projektmanagement für die Eigentümer und Betreiber von Schienenfahrzeugen in Großbritannien. KBRS und Kiepe beschäftigen in Wolverton, Springburn und Birmingham rund 700 Mitarbeiter und erzielen einen Gesamtumsatz von rund 75 Mio. GBP (85 Mio. EUR). Die operativen Experten von Mutares starten mit den lokalen Teams nun die Ausarbeitung eines umfassenden Veränderungsprogramms.

„Die Übernahme von zwei Unternehmen von Knorr-Bremse ist unsere erste Transaktion in Großbritannien und setzt hervorragend die Markterschließung durch unser kürzlich eröffnetes UK Büro in London fort. Darüber hinaus stellt die Akquisition einen wichtigen Meilenstein in der Entwicklung von Mutares dar. KBRS und Kiepe sind exzellent im britischen Markt etabliert. Beide bilden gemeinsam eine ideale Plattforminvestition, bei der unser operatives Beratungsteam das lokale Management bei der Realisierung von Wertpotenzial unterstützen wird“, sagt Robin Laik, CEO der Mutares AG.

Unternehmensprofil der Mutares AG

Die Mutares AG, München (www.mutares.de), erwirbt mittelständische Unternehmen und Unternehmensteile, die im Rahmen einer Neupositionierung veräußert werden und ein klares operatives Verbesserungspotenzial aufweisen. Mutares unterstützt seine Beteiligungsunternehmen aktiv mit eigenen Investment- und Beratungsteams sowie durch strategische Zukäufe. Ziel ist es, mit Fokus auf nachhaltigem Wachstum des Portfoliounternehmens eine signifikante Wertsteigerung zu erreichen. Die Aktien der Mutares AG werden an der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse unter dem Symbol „MUX“ (ISIN: DE000A2NB650) gehandelt.